Interview With Amber Wilson

Posted on May 9, 2010

0


Amber Wilson is a singer-songwriter hailing from Orkney, currently based in Aberdeen, and soon to be a very welcome new addition to the Glasgow music scene, though it shouldn’t be long before she is hitting a much wider audience. Her voice is trully breathtaking, dinstinctive and affectionate in its delivery, and sure to entice an emotional listening response. Amber is set for her second release, the Covered EP, which will feature a series of cover songs to display her vocal talents. This is not the type of cover album you hear from the 4th place reject from X Factor, but rather the type that makes you want to check out the act who wrote the original, only for them to seem like a wedding band covering an Amber Wilson tune. Have a listen to the song below, a cover of Air’s Playground Love , while we see what Miss Wilson had to say when kindly answering  some questions for the blog.

I loved the music scene in Aberdeen when I lived there, but it is very small compared to a place like Glasgow. How do you find being based up North in regards to being a musician?

It’s really nice being part of a small scene as it’s very supportive, whereas in bigger citys like Glasgow I guess because there are hundreds of different things going on you can get lost in it. I’m moving to Glasgow in August however as I feel I’m ready to start playing gigs regularly outwith my comfort zone of Aberdeen town.

You have played with some very talented musicians, would you care to say a bit about that?

I have been pretty fortunate! I’ve been lucky enough to play with the likes of Teitur, Karine Polwart, Seth Lakeman, Stephen Fretwell and Fionn Regan. All of whom were lovely genuine people which is refreshing, as you do more often than not meet absolute twats who have let a bit of success go to their head.

Do you have plans to get a band together?

I do yes. Although I will always play wee acoustic sets, a dream set up for me would be to have a cellist, drummer, bassist and a programmer to take some of my new material to a massive attack/ Audrey-esque level.

What was the thinking behind doing an EP of covers?

It’s just a bit of fun really, relating back to the whole band thing, I have a lot of new material ready to record but I don’t have the instrumental set up to take it to a level I’d be happy recording. I’ve also had requests from people at gigs and on myspace to record a few of my covers, so I have!

Can we expect any new material soon?

Relatively soon.

What is the songwriting process for you?

Picking up the guitar and putting pen to paper. Usually after a break up and/or a few whiskys.



Have there been any particular highlights in your musical career so far?

Being a session singer for Morcheeba was an amazing experience. I was only 19 and felt tres cool scooting about singing their trip hop beats!

Aside from that, my gig with Fionn Regan at the Tunnels in Aberdeen was probably the best gig I have ever played. Fionn is incredible. The End of History is up there as one of my favourite albums of all time, and seeing him perform it at an intimate candlelit gig was an absolute winner. He gave me a free signed copy also, what a legend!

What are your plans in music for the next year?

I just want to play as much as possible. I’m off to Paris soon to play a session for the Le Cargo webzine which I am very excited about! And I’m going to Dublin to play some gigs in Summer, aswell as London in June to shoot a music video for a new song. Julia Doogan and I are also going to start up a Coldplay covers band when I move through to Glasgow in August haha so I’m guessing it wont take long before we are touring the world with that.

If you could steal a song from an act on the Scottish unsigned circuit and have it as your own, what song would you take?

Any of Julia Doogans songs, she writes the most beautiful melodys and her songs are all so sweet and catchy.

If  your music was to be the soundtrack to a film or TV programme which one do you think it would suit best?

I think dubstep remixes of my songs would make a perfect soundtrack to episodes of Bucky O Hare and the Thundercats.

A totally random question: What do you think will happen after the general election?

Scotland will get f*cked over, again.


A big thanks to Amber for taking the time to answer some questions, and here’s how you can hear/ see more of her:

20th may 2010 – The Tunnels, Aberdeen – w/ Esperi + Tim and Sam’s, Tim and the Sam band, with Tim and Sam

11th June 2010 – The Doghouse, Dundee

5th November – The Beach Ballroon, Aberdeen

The Covered EP will be released imminently, but in the meantime you can still purchase the debut Amber Wilson release, My EP , just have a look on her website for purchasing details.

Tagged:
Posted in: Interviews