Recommended #6 Eagleowl by The Wee Rogue

Posted on November 12, 2010

0


Wounded Knee answered the questions for Recommended #5 last Friday, so this week it’s the turn of The Wee Rogue.

Who are you recommending? and why?

I’d like to recommend the band Eagleowl, because I just think they’re a very worthwhile band that are making genuine and moving music that is not particularly in-keeping with any current trends.

How would you describe the music?

Their music I suppose typically takes the form of earnest, though often rather sparse & elusive, haunted, dare-I-say torch songs delivered by the way of slow, syrupy, warm, spindly, slacker-ish guitar and carefully considered counterpoint and warmth from double bass, usually bowed. Depending on the personnel of the particular evening there can also be accompaniment from ukelele, glockenspiel, mandolin, harmonium and violin, each of which tend to take on a somewhat sinister, bitter-sweet quality when heard in context of the rest of the music. Sweet, sad and delicate male/female harmony parts to boot!

How did you discover this band?

I discovered Eagleowl through seeing an early version of them live at the (now sadly defunct) subway cowgate (I always felt that place had a certain, hard to define charm about it), playing alongside My Kappa Roots and, perhaps Cerberus Shoal, though I could be wrong. I was there to see My Kappa Roots and had never heard of Eagleowl before.
I liked the show, but felt that they were maybe reaching toward something that they hadn’t quite put their finger on yet.

How would you describe the live experience?

Next time I saw them I was blown away. It was down in London and they had expanded to a threepiece and for whatever reason I felt for the entire show that there was no other music I’d rather be listening to. They were playing in a sweaty little place and, whilst they played with typical modesty, the sound filled the place and the whole thing was absolutely captivating. Afterwards I was mumbling the words ‘Super heroes’ to whoever I could find. I’ve probably seen them about ten times since then and they’re always ace.

If you had to suggest one of their songs to start someone off with what would it be?

Good song to start off with would probably be Into The Fold, it’s really beautiful and a very good reflection of the band doing what they do – very, very well. Plus it’s on their myspace.

A big thanks to The Wee Rogue for the recommendation.

For more of Eagleowl pop over to the band’s website.

Posted in: Recommended