Recommended #7 Small Town Boredom by Eagleowl

Posted on November 26, 2010

2


The Wee Rogue answered the questions for Recommended #6 a couple of Friday’s ago, so this week it’s the turn of Eagleowl.

Who are you recommending? and why?

I’m recommending Small Town Boredom. As they’re one of my favorite Scottish bands, and the perfect soundtrack for the continuing onset of Winter. They’re a band who have already amassed a really rich back catalogue, but I fee they have yet to see the recognition they deserve.

How would you describe the music?

It’s pretty dark. Fraser writes the lyrics, and isn’t afraid to take you to some uncomfortable places. I think because of that it’s quite a cathartic experience, though. The songs on the whole are very fragile, gentle. The lyrics are whispered. The hooks creep slowly. It’s all tied together with tape loops and found sounds that give it a really nice texture. It’s, um, dead good. It’s sparse, but there’s a lot there. If you know what I mean. There’s a real depth to it, and they really take their time – which I really respect. Each track and each recording is obsessed over until it’s just as they want it.

How did you discover this band/artist?

It’s strange to say, as they’ve since become close friends, but Small Town Boredom were a myspace find. Back in the days when myspace was relevant. I had been checking out bands that we could possible play gigs with, and they seemed perfect. So we invited them through to Edinburgh to play a show. It was one of the first gigs we ever put on, and was really incredible. We’ve since stayed friends, talk about music a lot, played more shows together. I’ve played some guitar on the recordings for their new album, and at some of their live shows.

How would you describe the live experience?

Intense, but very very rare. They play so few shows – in fact these days not at all. Which is something I really respect too. I think it’s because of the nature of the band. They do all their recording and mixing at home, so that they have complete control over every aspect. But in a live situation, you basically hand over that control and are at the mercy of the venue, the PA system, the sound guy and the mood of the crowd- which I think they find very disconcerting. I hope they do play more shows, but I’ve no idea when that will be.

If you had to suggest one of their songs to start someone off with what would it be?

Void Lighting is up on their myspace just now. I think it’s a really nice introduction to the band. It’s sparse, yet has this beautiful melodic swell at the chorus. And is utterly utterly miserable.

A big thanks to Eagleowl for the recommendation.

For more of Small Town Boredom check out their myspace.

Posted in: Recommended