Recommended #8 – Jonnie Common by Small Town Boredom

Posted on December 11, 2010

1


Eagleowl answered the questions for Recommended #7, so now it’s the turn of Small Town Boredom.

Who are you recommending? and why?

I’d like to recommend Jonnie Common, quite simply because I think he is a genius.

How would you describe the music?

I think Jonnie’s music is very original & unique. Most of his songs are quite upbeat, in a melancholy way. He has a very natural way with electronic sounds & instruments, everything in his songs always seems to sit really well together. I find there is a lot to his music, so many layers. On the surface his songs are quite instant with great hooks, but the more you listen to them, the more you discover and the more you enjoy them.

How did you discover him?

It’s was a long time ago so it’s a bit hazy…I discovered Jonnie when he was releasing music under the name ‘down the tiny steps’. I picked up a copy of his first ep in avalanche records, I hadn’t heard anything about him, it was one of those impulse buys. The next time he played live I went along to see him. I was a bit drunk and shouted out a song request, I think he was surprised / scared by my sheer enthusiasm, we got talking afterwards, I can’t remember much else but we became great friends as a result, he played in my band for a year or two & has helped me massively with recording over the years. I have a great respect & admiration for what he does & he is always a source of inspiration for me when it comes to music.

How would you describe the live experience?

I must have seen Jonnie play live around thirty times over the years, be it on his own or with a full band. His performances these days tend to be a lovely mix of acoustic & electronic elements, all very organic sounding, sometimes upbeat, sometimes sad but always full of interesting little pop songs. His performances always leave me with a smile on my face.

If you had to suggest one of his songs to start someone off with what would it be?

There is a great song on his website just now called ‘ Summer Is For Going Places’.

I suppose this would be as good a place to start as any. It kind of sums up what his music is about; it’s insanely catchy, very melodic, dark & light at the same time. I think it’s the perfect introduction to his music.

A big thanks to Small Town Boredom for the recommendation.

Check out the Jonnie Common Website for loads of goodies.

Website : http://www.jonniecommon.com

Posted in: Recommended