Recommended #16 Fur Hood by Battery Face

Posted on May 27, 2011

0


Min Diesel were on duty for Recommended #15 last week, and pass the batton on to Battery Face.

Who are you recommending? and why?

We’re recommending a band called Fur Hood. We all stay in Glasgow, and basically they’re really different to a lot of what goes on and what we’ve seen here.

How would you describe the music?

They’re like sunshine blasting out of your speakers when you hit play on yer stereo.  There’s a real psychedelic pop thing going on that sounds fun, inventive and unassuming.  I find their songs not only charming but really infectious and basically whenever I listen to them I want to do that slow sway you get at the happiest moments of a festival or gig.

How did you discover this band/artist?

My friend, Fielding, does DIY gigs in Glasgow under the name Cry Parrot and recommended them to me.  I ended up checking them out a little bit after that.

How would you describe the live experience?

I haven’t seen them yet, but Gav and Rikki of Battery Face saw them play a free show at Mono and thought they were amazing.  I really wished I could’ve made it!  I reckon they’d be amazing at a gallery opening as well.

If you had to suggest one of their songs to start someone off with what would it be?

Know The Letters Know The Language is a pretty good starter as it incorporates both their psych style with the Summery melodies.  The Left Ones Numb is really catchy and I really dig Woburn Sands.  Just listen to them all!

I couldn’t find those tracks, so here’s 1 And The Sky Was A Shield.

A big thanks to Battery Face for the recommendation.

Keep up to date with Fur Hood on Myspace.

Posted in: Recommended