The Scottish BAMS Award 2011

Posted on December 22, 2011


At the start of December Scottish bloggers and music sites (BAMS) are invited to vote for their albums of the year for the The Scottish BAMS Award. This year folk were asked to vote for their top 3, and there was a massive list of albums put forward.

The whole charade is the work of Peenko, who does a great job of getting our collective arses in gear and producing the end product.

It’s great to be a part of this award and the list below of participants shows that I am in very good company.

The Pop Cop, Jim Gellatly, The Steinberg Principle, Blueback Hotrod, Scots Whay Hae, Dauphin, The Daily Dose, Blues Bunny, Rave Child, Glasgow PodcArt, 17 Seconds, Net Sounds, The Tidal Wave of Indifference,, Dear Scotland, Vic Galloway, Manic Pop Thrills, Edinburgh Man, Kowalskiy, Last Years Girl, Aye Tunes, Song, By Toad, Elba Sessions, Listen Before You Buy, Detour Scotland, Jock Rock, Found in Sound, Phuturelabs, The Daily Growl, The ‘Spill, Scottish Fiction, Nicola Meighan, Jenny Soep, Rokbun, Curious Joe, Radar Scotsman Music Blog Peenko.

It was a landslide victory this year – for an album I’m still, ashamedly, to hear the whole of yet – but as you’ll see by the results below it was very close everywhere else.

Here’s the top ten:

= 8. The Moth and the Mirror – Honestly, This World

= 8. PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

= 8. FOUND – Factorycraft

= 6. Conquering Animal Sound – Kammerspiel

= 6. The Son(s) – The Son(s)

5. King Creosote and John Hopkins – Diamond Mine

=3. Mike Nisbet – Vagrant

=3. Bon Iver – Bon Iver

2. Adam Stafford – Build A Harbour Immediately

1. Bill Wells and Aiden Moffat – Everything’s Getting Older

If you head over to Peenko you can read an interview with Aiden Moffat and Bill Wells after they were given their prizes – bottles of BAMS Bucky!

BAMS 2011 Bucky Logo by Bob Rafferty

Posted in: Features