Recommended #21 Betatone Distraction by Michael Gallacher

Posted on January 24, 2012

0


The Recommended chain broke down for a second time over the holidays, which is a shame as I’m keen to keep running this feature, but fret not as I’ve decided to give it one last go, and roped in a very capable voice to help me.

Michael Gallacher is best known for his photography prowess over at twistyfoldy.net and kindly agreed to choose a band for Recommended #21.

Who are you recommending? and why?

I’m suggesting a band I first saw back in 2010 at a battle of the bands. They are called Betatone Distraction. I’m selecting them as I feel they have a sound and vibe that few bands in Glasgow, Scotland or even the UK have.

How would you describe the music?

A whole mix of Rock, Prog, Indie, they are open to try different styles and it is evident from seeing them live and in the studio that they are not scared of trying something new, they don’t follow the trend of Scottish bands.

How did you discover this band/artist?

I first came across them at a battle of the bands, out of all the bands I saw that night they stood out so much it was a welcome change from the other bands that were on. I saw them a few times through that Battle of the bands, although they did not win (they came second I believe) they left a lasting impression on me. Since that time I’ve got to know the guy’s in the band and we definitely have similar musical tastes. the battle of the bands was being run by Craig Reid of Whats the Noise promotions.

How would you describe the live experience?

Live, loud and vibrant. It is only three people but they layer sounds and build up the songs, they rock out, they build tension, grab your attention and make you feel you are part of something new.

If you had to suggest one of their songs to start someone off with what would it be?

Right now, I’d suggest this one:

They have a new ep out now, I had a sneak listen to it last week and WOW, it is amazing. Really looking forward to them getting out there to see what folk make of it. Hopefully they get lots more gigging in Glasgow and beyond.

A big thanks to Michael for the recommendation.

Betatone Distraction
have just released the Process Replaces Content EP, which you can buy here.

Posted in: Recommended