Recommended #22 Kochka by Betatone Distraction

Posted on February 2, 2012

0


Michael Gallacher rebooted this feature for Recommended #21 last week, meaning it is no the turn of Betatone Distraction to choose a band.

Who are you recommending? and why?

My recommendation is Kochka; for me they are one of those bands that are doing things in Glasgow on their own terms and not trying to fall into trends – they are original, they enjoy what they do, and for them if anyone else enjoys it then it’s a blessing.

How would you describe the music?

Its a mixture of Klezmer folk, indie rock and experimental.

How did you discover this band/artist?

An ex-member used to work at Strung Out Guitars and put me on to them. When I heard them I immediately knew I wanted us (Betatone Distraction) to do a gig with them. After a while of trying to pin them down our paths finally crossed at a gig in Box one night, and from that night on a friendship was born and we’d play more and more gigs together. There’s not many bands that you play with in this Glasgow giggin’ circuit that make you just sit back and think “man those guys are awesome”.

How would you describe the live experience?

Well their new record is great but seeing them live is the best way to experience Kochka. I was at their last gig in Stereo, which was the launch party of their debut album, and for me it’s the best gig I’ve seen from an unsigned band in Glasgow. They were in costumes like clowns at a circus, and to quote P.T Barnum “we have something for everyone”.

Musically they all bringing a unique individualism to the band, most notably their front man Markk – he commanded the stage that night like a possessed ring leader, completely losing himself in the moment and it was just amazing to watch. Everyone knew they had witnessed a really special gig that night. I would say go and see for yourself though, you won’t be disappointed.

If you had to suggest one of their songs to start someone off with what would it be?

I was gonna say the opening track off their new album but the first track is a quick 1 min intro called Curtains – didn’t Eminem do a similar thing on an album? I’m sure the Kochka posse will have me for that, haha!

I would say check out the second track on the album called Carousel-o-Tape. It’s a great track that displays a lot of what they have in their musical locker: great riffs, dancing beats and quirky screaming backing vocals. The song shows that going nuts and not giving a monkey’s is what these guys are about.

A big thanks to Betatone Distraction for the recommendation.

You can purchase Kochka’s debut album from Bandcamp now.

Posted in: Recommended